FromOuterPluto
New User

Sterling M5 Restoration Advice

Fri Oct 22, 2021 3:25 am

Hello, I want to start by saying I'm new to the hobby, found this forum trying to track down info on a Sterling M5 I recently won from an auction. I've never attempted anything like this before but am extremely excited to at least try. I've done some digging through here on certain parts I've been wondering about, but I figure a fresh post on the matter would be the best start. Anyways-

Like I said above, I now have a 16/16 M5 Sterling of unknown age or operating condition. Over the next few months I'd like to fully restore this siren. Any advice/recommendations for this project would be greatly appreciated, I'll provide all the info, questions, and concerns I have on it to the best of my ability:
ImageImage

Apart from the dented shrouds, and the shroud end cap missing on one end, the siren appears to be in decent material shape. The rotors do spin freely, though I did notice that the left impeller occasionally scrapes the stator- this usually only happens on the first spin, then goes away. Additionally, I heard a clattering noise, like something coming in contact with the motor, almost like the sound of a playing card in bicycle spokes, when I first spun the impellers. However this noise has since gone away mostly. The only other suspect sound I can think of right now is a consistent squeaking from the motor for as long as the rotors are spinning.

Most of this would lead me to believe this is caused mostly worn or unseated bearings? I'm not sure what else could be causing these things myself.

The motor is a 110/220v Peerless Electric, my friend who is more electrically inclined than I am believes it is currently wired for single phase 110v based on the diagram. We are hoping to wire it up and fire it off somewhere just to see if it works.