FunnelVortex

Wausau, WI's sirens.

Thu Oct 23, 2014 4:12 pm

Hello, this is my first post here.

I am a resident of Wausau, WI and I am trying to locate and pinpoint the sirens in the city and the suburb's in the city's immediate area. We have all mechanical sirens. I know we have a Thunderbolt 1000T, an allertor, a couple of T-128's, T-121's, some 2001's, and a thunderbeam. I have heard we have 13 or 14 sirens total.

We used to have an SD-10 but I heard it broke and had to be replaced (but I do not know what replaced it). I think Rib Mountain used to have a Model 5 which went down with the old fire department.

I know the thunderbolt is located downtown on top of the landmark building, it is on Chopper Level 6, A series blower, and rotates at 8 RPM. I live only a half mile away from it, and believe me, it is still pretty loud at that distance.

I also know the location of the P-50, it is in Rib Mountain and is located on top of Rib Mountain State Park.

I have seen the allertor, but I do not remember it's location, only that it is located in front of an elementary school. I do not know the locations of the other sirens, but I will keep my eyes peeled for them.

The sirens are purposed for tornado warnings. They sound every week at 1:15 PM on mondays for the weekly test (I think they do not test in winter though).

However, for some reason our sirens only test in alert for one minute. I have never heard them in attack, I do not know why the county or city does not test that tone, but we don't.

coastalsyrolover

Re: Wausau, WI's sirens.

Thu Oct 23, 2014 10:19 pm

FunnelVortex wrote:
However, for some reason our sirens only test in alert for one minute. I have never heard them in attack, I do not know why the county or city does not test that tone, but we don't.