Cynicade
New User

Advice For Newer Enthusiasts?

Mon Jul 20, 2020 12:43 am

My interest in sirens was sparked in early 2018, and I've since tried muddling through the internet for more information on this object of fascination, which is, as I'd expect users of this forum board to be familiar with, a very unusual fascination to have. It's been two years and I'm not necessarily starting from the ground up in terms of knowledge, I'd still consider myself quite a novice to this community. Frankly, the information on sirens is broad, not very easy to find, and pretty intimidating for someone at entry level.

So, hello, my name is Fiona. I live in southern Louisiana. I'm studying mechanical engineering. I REALLY like tornadoes and out door warning sirens. And I want advice on how to find reliable information on this massive and seemingly kind of underground interest.

p.s. how in the world do you people find tornado sirens? do you drive around and just look at roof tops and poles? do you sneak around on Google street view? I found out only from this forum that I've been driving past an inactive Model ...5? all the time when I went to BRCC, but never noticed it because I was driving, and it looks like something that's just part of the roof! I would have never known it was there if I hadn't learned it from someone else.

HX56
YouTube Username: HX56

Re: Advice For Newer Enthusiasts?

Mon Jul 20, 2020 2:39 am

Hello! Welcome to the board!

We tend to look around google maps for sirens, once we find them we tend to mark them onto maps so we have a record of all the sirens in one place. Considering you are from Louisiana, you would be looking at this map:
https://www.google.com/maps/d/u/0/viewe ... 000001&z=8