sebastian.salmhofer

Building a loud siren

Wed Jan 24, 2024 4:31 pm

Hi everyone,

I live in a gated community settlement project in Paraguay and we want to implement a warning system with sirens. The settlement area is around 4km² / 1000 acres. In Paraguay we cant find any large sirens and importing is very expensive and/or takes a long time. So I got the idea to build something myself. I have a machine shop with manual lathe and mill, I can weld and we can get CNC plasma and laser cut parts. Electric motors of any size are no problem either.
My problem is that I have no experience with the design and I can't find any plans online, except for simple wooden or 3d printed sirens, but I guess they won't nearly be loud enough.
Can some of you help me or point me in the right direction where I can find something? Maybe there are drawings available for some old sirens that we could replicate. We don't even know what commercial siren or multiple sirens we would need to cover the area so that people can hear it inside their homes too.

Sebastian

TheVintageLouisiana
YouTube Username: Sirens Of Southern Louisiana
Discord: louisianasirens

Re: Building a loud siren

Thu Jan 25, 2024 2:08 pm

Depends. Whats the budgert?
louisiana :arrow:

sebastian.salmhofer

Thu Jan 25, 2024 3:40 pm

There isn't a real budget yet because we all don't know anything about the topic. It should be as inexpensive as possible while doing it's job and being reliable. My time is free if I am going to build something, so it would just be materials in this case.

Eclipse DDS
YouTube Username: Civil Defence Fox

Thu Jan 25, 2024 7:34 pm